The Open-Office Trap : The New Yorker


The Open-Office Trap : The New Yorker

I’ve worked in open-air “cubicle farms” pretty much my entire career, and never quite understood why people did it.  The only logical reason I could come up with is that it made it easier to fit more people in the same (or even less) amount of space.

As someone who works in an open environment, I can certainly attest that I find it really distracting, and I can very easily say that on the days I work from home, I am far more productive, and this is with a 6 and 4 year-old at home with me…they end up distracting me far less during the course of the day.

I’m not sure how you solve this problem, and I fear it isn’t going away anytime soon.  I’m curious to what others think…is this a normal attitude about open office, or is there something else going on?

Leave a Reply

